Three Mile Island Remembered

The recent earthquake and Tsunami in Japan and the resulting problems at the Fukushima nuclear power plant reminds me of the Three Mile Island ‘event” that took place on March 28, 1979. I was a freshman at Mt. St. Mary’s College, (now “University”) and I remember the MD State Police coming to the college at about 7am and using the sirens and PA systems on the police cars to warn us of the leak and that we need to begin preparations to evacuate the area and to head South.

What a wake-up call that was! We were at the outer limits of the 50-mile evacuation radius and remember, this was long before cell phones, personal computers and campus wide notification systems. It was scary, but turned out to be not as bad as thought.

I was reading one of my favorite blogs last night, I Cringely (Bob is a very smart guy who has a very broad background) and I was taken back to 1979 by his column, which provides an insight that you won’t likely see in the government sanctioned media.

I also can’t help recall a song written by Tom Paxton entitled “All Clear in Harrisburg” from the Paxton Report album. A political/social satirist, this album contains some of his best work, (well, the more I think about that statement, the less I think so, but it’s good anyway) and those of you who are old enough to remember, will probably connect with every song on there….and it’s available at Amazon.

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker living in Cincinnati, Ohio, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Three Mile Island Remembered and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Mile Island Remembered

  1. Jim Loftis says:

    We just listened to Tom Paxton’s “All Clear in Harrisburg” since we weren’t familiar with that song. Before I knew it, Jim was singing right along with him! While we were at the site, we also listened to “Born on the 4th of July”…..WHEW! Quite an emotional one!

    Jim & Phyllis

    Like

Leave a Reply

