Another Change

I recently heard of the sale of the Aurora Casket Co. to a private equity firm from New York.

My mentor and friend, Todd VanBeck chimes in here: Another Change to the Funeral Horizon

Todd and I go back to 1982 and although we don’t physically get together all that often, we still stay in touch by our blogs, e-mails and occasional telephone calls. It is safe for me to say that Todd was the number one influence to my career over the years. As we have both aged, we do not always agree on things, but as I keep telling my wife, “Any time two people always agree, one of them is not necessary”.

I recall being a student at the venerable Cincinnati College of Mortuary Science and taking the bus trip to Aurora Casket Co. I remember vividly, Tom Ward’s grand entrance into the auditorium, pretending to be a custodian and my confusion about Mr. Ward’s use of the bucket as a prop, (You had to be there).

I also remember the outstanding fried chicken and as I started reading Todd’s post, I actually wondered if that would be mentioned. It was mighty fine chicken.

The world of funeral service continues to change about as fast as the horse buggy whip business changed after the introduction of the motorized automobile. Society as a whole is re-arranging the way we look at caring for and remembering our dead. Government, at all levels, is making it more difficult for all small businesses to stay profitable. The world is full of difficult choices and I am sure that the Bachman/Barrott family thought about it long and hard before making the decision. I wish them well.

Thank you Todd, for unearthing the memory of an experience I had not recalled recently..

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker living in Aiken, SC, USA who likes to share the view out my window.
This entry was posted in Another Change and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

